DBE Certifications in Utah

Explore DBE Certification programs available in Utah

The Utah Unified Certification Program (UUCP) was established to simplify the Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) certification process for businesses. The UUCP is set to follow the principles of the U.S. Department of Transportation, 49 CFR Part 23 and 26 when determining certification eligibility. In efforts to maximize opportunity for small, disadvantaged businesses, the UUCP has established the Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Program. The Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT), Utah Transit Authority (UTA), and Salt Lake City Department of Airports (SLCDA) are all UUCP certifying agencies.

Statewide Certification Programs

Utah Unified Certification Program (UUCP)

Utah Transit Authority (UTA) is a certifier of the Utah Unified Certification Program. The Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) program has been designed to acknowledge and avoid discrimination against disadvantaged businesses in federally assisted contracts. By doing so, this ensures that DBEs are given an equal chance to participate. This program is also committed to helping DBEs grow so that they can succeed in the future without the help of the program.

In order to qualify for the DBE Program, small businesses must meet all of the following:

  • The business is at least 51% owned and controlled by a disadvantaged individual. A disadvantaged individual includes someone who is a woman, Black, Hispanic, Asian or Pacific Islander, American Indian, Alaskan Native, or economically disadvantaged
  • The owner’s personal net worth can not exceed $1.32 million, minus the equity in their business and primary residence
  • Meet the Small Business Administration’s (SBA) guidelines for a small business and the company’s gross receipts cannot exceed an average of $22.41 million over a three-year period

The Utah Department of Transportation provides a DBE directory for the state of Utah.

Click here to access the Uniform Certification Application.

Local and Regional Programs

The Salt Lake City Department of Airports (SLCDA)

In efforts to create more opportunities for disadvantaged, minority and woman-owned firms, the Salt Lake City Department of Airports (SLCDA) includes Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) and Airport Concessionaire DBE (ACDBE) requirement policies in all airport concession agreements. The ACDBE and DBE Programs follow the principles of the U.S. Department of Transportation USDOT, 49 CFR Part 23 and 26, which offer direction to the SLCDA on DBE certifications and program information.

Women’s Business Enterprise Council-West (WBEC-West)

The Women’s Business Enterprise Center-West (WBEC-West) certifies woman-owned businesses in Arizona, Colorado, Southern California, Utah, Wyoming, Nevada, Hawaii and Guam. This Woman Business Enterprise (WBE) certification is accepted by more than 1,000 organizations, corporations, and governments through this region. As an affiliate of the Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC), this program offers access to numerous resources and benefits for all certified members. Businesses that are at least 51% owned and operated by a woman who is a U.S. citizen may qualify. Before applying, check your eligibility and go over the required documentation. To apply, click here.

Northwest Mountain Minority Supplier Development Council

The Northwest Mountain MSDC is a nonprofit organization affiliated with the National Minority Supplier Development Council (NMSDC). This organization offers Minority Business Enterprise (MBE) certifications to businesses that are at least 51% owned and operated by one or more ethnic minorities in the Pacific Northwest Mountain region. In addition to certifying, the Northwest Mountain MSDC helps educate MBEs and connect them to large businesses. 

For more information, visit https://nwmmsdc.org/services/mbe/. To get NMSDC certified, visit https://affiliate.nmsdc.org/nwmtnmsdc/.