DBE Certifications in New York

The State of New York is dedicated to offering equal opportunities and government contracts to all businesses located within the state. Diverse Business Enterprise (DBE) certifications are offered to businesses owned by economically or socially ‘disadvantaged’ members of the population. This includes small, minority, and woman owned businesses, as well as those that meet size or location standards. Certifications are available through statewide, regional, and local programs, giving each business the greatest opportunity to participate in large projects that affect and improve their local economies.

Statewide Certification Programs

New York State Unified Certification Program (NYSUCP)

New York offers DBE certifications for diverse businesses through the NYSUCP. This program serves as a “one-stop shop” for disadvantaged business owners who want to participate in government and public contracts throughout the state. NYSUCP certifications are accepted by all entities throughout New York that accept U.S. Department of Transportation funding. To apply for certification through the NYSUCP, fill out this application and Personal Net Worth statement and submit these forms to one of these agencies:

New York State Division of Minority and Women’s Business Development

New York’s Division of Minority and Women’s Business Development endeavors to increase business opportunities for woman and minority owned businesses by eliminating barriers and promoting equality in business. This organization offers resources and education to qualifying certified businesses throughout the state. To apply, click on the links below.

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey DBE Programs

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey (PANYNJ) certifies small, woman, and minority owned businesses throughout New York and New Jersey. Certified businesses have access to set-aside government contracts, vendor price preferences, and other unique business opportunities. To apply, click on the links below.

Local and Regional Programs

City of St. Louis and St. Louis Airport Concessions

Companies interested in getting certified with the City of St. Louis to participate in the City of St. Louis’ local Minority- and Women-Owned Business Enterprise program and/or the federal Disadvantaged and/or Airport Concessions Disadvantaged Business Enterprise program should visit the Certification and Compliance Management System. You create a user ID and password and begin the application process right on their website. Visit this link for more information about the types of DBE projects and the certification for both the City of St. Louis and the airport:


Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA)

To be certified as a bona fide Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) a company must meet the following criteria:

  • The majority stockholder (firm’s principle) must be considered socially and economically disadvantaged according to DOT guidelines. This includes recognized minority groups and females.
  • The principle(s) must have a documented personal net worth that does not exceed $1.31 million, which excludes equity in the firm.
  • The firm’s annual receipts (based on a three-year average) cannot exceed the Small Business Administration’s size standards based on the firm’s primary function and NAICS codes.
  • Further information on these regulations and the certification requirements can be found at https://www.transportation.gov/osdbu  from Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilitzation Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization.
  • Visit http://www.kcata.org/about_kcata/entries/dbe_certification to apply for certification.

Bi-State Development (BSD)

Based in St. Louis, the Bi-State Development organization partners with private and public organizations on hundreds of projects on both sides of the Mississippi River. BSD is a dynamic and multi-faceted resource for economic development in the St. Louis region. Their DBE program utilizes an on-line application process to receive and review new applications for DBE certification and No Change Affidavits (NCA), which are used to renew DBE status or confirm certification that was received in some other area or jurisdiction.

OSD is required to review applications within 90 days. DBE firms whose initial applications were processed by BSD are required to submit every year on the anniversary date of their certification a NCA, the firm’s balance sheet and income statement and a completed and signed copy of their firm’s federal tax return. The NCA affirms that there have been no changes in the firm’s circumstances affecting its ability to meet size, disadvantaged status, ownership, or control. Visit here to apply:


The Missouri Women’s Business Development Center (WBDC)

The WBDC can help small businesses that qualify to get certified as a Women’s Business Enterprise (WBE). This nationally recognized certification is accepted by more than 1,000 corporations representing America’s most prestigious brands, in addition to many states, cities and other entities.

Some of the benefits of WBE certification include invitations to networking events with supplier diversity representatives, contact information for supplier diversity representatives, and opportunities to attend corporate panels, procurement events, and education opportunities. To qualify, your business must be 51% owned, operated and controlled by a woman or women.  There’s a regional office you can visit in St. Louis, as well as one in Kansas City, KS that covers portions of Missouri. Visit the national page of https://www.wbdc.org/certification-services/ to apply.

Mid-States Minority Supplier Development Council  (MS-MSDC)

Businesses in Eastern Missouri that are at least 51% owned and operated by one or more ethnic minorities can get an MBE certification from this regional branch of the national organization called the Minority Supplier Development Council (MSDC). The MS-MSCD offers minority business certifications for companies across Eastern Missouri as well as Indiana and Central Illinois, through its location in St. Louis. Eligibility is established by conducting a series of screenings, interviews and site visits. Click on this link for more information or to apply: https://midstatesmsdc.org/about-us/contact-us