DBE Certifications in Georgia

The State of Georgia offers Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) certifications to businesses that are majority-owned by individuals who are considered socially or economically ‘disadvantaged’ members of the population. These certifications are granted to a wide variety of businesses, including those owned by women, minorities, veterans, and service-disabled veterans. Georgia offers numerous statewide, regional, and local certification programs for qualifying businesses that are at least 51% owned by disadvantaged individuals. With these certifications, Georgia offers improved equality and opportunities for all businesses within the state, including increased access to public and government contracts and subcontracts.

Statewide Certification Programs

Georgia Unified Certification Program (GUCP)

Businesses within the state can get certified through the Georgia Unified Certification Program (GUCP). Offered by the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT), this program’s DBE certification is accepted by most organizations and agencies throughout the state, enabling businesses to receive increased contracting opportunities. Eligible businesses must be for-profit and at least 51% owned and operated by a socially or economically disadvantaged individual. This certification is available to businesses located in any Georgia county except Fulton, DeKalb, or Clayton counties, which are certified through the Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA). To apply, complete this Unified Application and Personal Net Worth (PNW) Statement.

Department of Administrative Services MBE Programs

The Georgia Department of Administrative Services (DOAS) has partnered with GDOT to offer Minority Business Enterprise (MBE) certifications to businesses that already have a GUCP DBE certification. Once minority-owned businesses receive their DBE certification, they can then apply for the DOAS MBE certification. To apply, apply for your GUCP certification and then contact the DOAS for further instructions.

Local and Regional Programs


The Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) offers DBE certifications to businesses located in DeKalb, Clayton, and Fulton counties. With this certification, businesses have increased opportunities to participate in contracts and projects in the region. To apply, click on the links below.

Atlanta Equal Business Opportunity DBE Programs

The City of Atlanta’s Office of Contract Compliance offers two programs to improve business equality and success for disadvantaged and small businesses. The Equal Business Opportunity (EBO) and Small Business Opportunity (SBO) programs certify qualifying businesses to give them increased access to work within the city. To apply for these programs, select the corresponding link below.

Georgia Minority Supplier Development Council MBE Programs

The Georgia Minority Supplier Development Council (GMSDC) works to increase supplier diversity and minority business opportunities throughout the state. This program supports Disadvantaged Businesses within the region by offering education, networking, and additional resources for all certified members. Eligible businesses must be for-profit, headquartered in Georgia, and at least 51% owned, operated, and controlled by an ethnic minority owner. To apply, click on the link below.

Greater Women’s Business Council WBE Programs

Women who own businesses in Georgia can get Woman Business Enterprise (WBE) and Woman-Owned Small Business (WOSB) certifications through the Greater Women’s Business Council (GWBC). This organization is an affiliate of the Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC), which allows it to offer education, events, resources, and national support for all certified members. To apply for a WBE through the GWBC, businesses must be at least 51% owned and operated by a woman or women. To apply, click on the links below.

Fulton County DBE Programs

Fulton County offers certifications for businesses owned by women, minorities, veterans, and service-disabled veterans in the area. With these certifications, businesses within Fulton County can enjoy increased access to local projects and contracts. To qualify, businesses must be at least 51% owned and operated by disadvantaged individuals. To apply, click on the links below.

Savannah DBE Programs

The City of Savannah certifies woman and minority owned businesses to provide equal opportunities to all businesses operating in the area. Qualifying businesses must be independent, meet SBA size standards, and be at least 51% owned by a woman or minority who meets financial requirements and is an American citizen. To apply, click on the links below.