DBE Certifications in South Dakota

Explore DBE Certification programs available in South Dakota

The South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT) established the South Dakota Unified Certification Program (UCP) to simplify the Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) certification process for businesses. The UCP is set to follow the principles of the U.S. Department of Transportation, 49 CFR Part 26 when determining certification eligibility. In efforts to maximize opportunity for small, disadvantaged businesses, the SDDOT has established the Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Program.

Statewide Certification Programs

South Dakota Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Program

The DBE program has been designed to acknowledge and avoid discrimination against disadvantaged businesses in federally assisted contracts. For a business to be considered disadvantaged, it must be a small business owned and operated by an individual both socially and financially disadvantaged.

The program offers DBE Supportive Services from Project Solutions, Inc. to provide extra support and opportunities for disadvantaged businesses. The service works to partake in the businesses’ growth process so that they are more equipped to take part in federally supported highway projects.

For more information on getting DBE certified in South Dakota, please visit https://dot.sd.gov/doing-business/contractors/dbe#listItemLink_0.

Before submitting an application, in-state businesses should review the Application Procedures and Guidelines and out-of-state firms should review their Application Procedures and Guidelines.

Local and Regional Programs

Woman-Owned Small Business (WOSB) Federal Contracting Program

The WOSB Federal Contracting Program creates many opportunities for participating businesses to be involved in federal contracts. To be eligible, your business must be a small business owned and controlled by a woman who is a U.S. citizen.

For more information on eligibility or how to apply, visit Women-Owned Small Business Federal Contracting Program located on the U.S. Small Business Administration website.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has four third-party certifiers for woman-owned businesses to use:

  • Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC)
  • National Women Business Owners Corporation (NWBOC)
  • U.S. Women’s Chamber of Commerce (USWCC)
  • The El Paso Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (EPHCC)

Women’s Business Development Center-Midwest (WBDC-Midwest)

The Women’s Business Development Center-Midwest (WBDC-Midwest) supports and encourages the growth of woman-owned businesses by making new business opportunities accessible to them. As an affiliate of the Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC), the organization administers the WBENC Certification to woman-owned businesses in South Dakota as well as Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and Wisconsin. This certification, the most prominent woman-owned business certification in the United States, will give certified WBEs access to new resources and development opportunities.

To be eligible, the business must be owned and controlled by a female who is a US citizen and has at least 51% ownership of the business.

To apply for the WBENC Certification, click here.

National Women Business Owners Corporation (NWBOC)

Along with certifying woman-owned businesses, the NWBOC has expanded to certifying veteran-owned businesses as well. The NWBOC awards certifications for the Minority Business Enterprise (MBE), Woman-Owned Small Businesses (WOSM), and Economically Disadvantaged Woman-Owned Small Business (EDWOSB). Being certified opens the door to many more opportunities for businesses.

To learn more about the program or eligibility, visit http://nwboc.org/index.html.

Click here to access the NWBOC certification applications.

U.S. Women’s Chamber of Commerce (USWCC)

The USWCC offers Woman-Owned Small Business (WOSB), Economically Disadvantaged Woman-Owned Small Business (EDWOSB), National Women’s Business Enterprise (NWBE), and International Women’s Business Enterprise (IWBE) certifications, as well as many resources to set women up for success

To learn more about the USWCC certifications, visit https://staging2.uswcc.org/certification/.

The El Paso Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (EPHCC)

The EPHCC offers Minority Business Enterprise (MBE) and Women’s Business Enterprise (WBE) certifications to businesses that are either minority or woman-owned.

Visit the EPHCC website for more information.

North Central Minority Supplier Development Council

Businesses that are at least 51% owned and operated by one or more ethnic minorities can get an MBE certification from this regional branch of the national organization called the National Minority Supplier Development Council (NMSDC). The NMSCD offers minority business certifications for companies across Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. Eligibility is established by conducting a series of screenings, interviews and site visits. Click here for more information or to apply.