DBE Certifications in North Dakota

Explore DBE Certification programs available in North Dakota

The state of North Dakota strives to create equal opportunities for businesses to participate in projects related to highway construction. To do so, New Mexico offers certification programs for disadvantaged businesses which include small, minority, and woman-owned. The Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Program was started by the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NMDOT), following regulations of the U.S. Department of Transportation, 49 CFR Part 23 and 26. Businesses are given the chance to strengthen and grow through statewide, regional, and local programs.

Statewide Certification Programs

Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Program

The Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Program has been designed to acknowledge and avoid discrimination against disadvantaged businesses in federally assisted contracts, which gives DBEs an equal chance to participate in these contracts. This program is also committed to helping DBE/ACDBE businesses grow so that they can succeed in the future without the help of the DBE Program.

To qualify, the small business must be at least 51% owned and controlled by a disadvantaged individual who is a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. A disadvantaged individual includes someone who is economically disadvantaged or someone who is a woman, Black American, Hispanic American, Native American, Asian-Pacific American, or Subcontinent Asian-Pacific American or of other minority groups. Firms must be certified by the North Dakota Uniform Certification Program (NDUCP) and must be reviewed each year for re-eligibility to continue to participate in the program.

The DBE program offers Supportive Services to provide extra support and training for certified disadvantaged businesses. The service works to partake in the firms’ growth process so that they are more equipped to take part in future projects without the help of the program.

Click here to apply online for the DBE/ACDBE certification.

If you need further assistance with the process, you can access the application guide. Check out the checklist of required documents as you are applying to ensure you have everything you need.

For more information on the program, certification, or your eligibility, visit: 


Local and Regional Programs

Women’s Business Development Center-Midwest (WBDC-Midwest)

The Women’s Business Development Center-Midwest (WBDC-Midwest) supports and encourages the growth of woman-owned businesses by making new business opportunities accessible to them. As an affiliate of the Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC), the organization administers the WBENC Certification to woman-owned businesses in North Dakota as well as Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. This certification, the most prominent woman-owned business certification in the United States, will give certified WBEs access to new resources and development opportunities.

To be eligible, the business must be owned and controlled by a female who is a US citizen and has at least 51% ownership of the business.

To apply for the WBENC Certification, click here.

North Central Minority Supplier Development Council

Businesses that are at least 51% owned and operated by one or more ethnic minorities can get an MBE certification from this regional branch of the national organization called the National Minority Supplier Development Council (NMSDC). The NMSCD offers minority business certifications for companies across Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. Eligibility is established by conducting a series of screenings, interviews and site visits. Click here for more information or to apply.