DBE Certifications in Kansas

Explore DBE Certification programs available in Kansas

The state of Kansas strives to create equal opportunities for all businesses. To do so, Kansas offers certification programs for disadvantaged businesses which include small, minority, and woman-owned. The Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Program was started by the Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT), following regulations of U.S. Department of Transportation, 49 CFR Part 26. Businesses are given the chance to strengthen and grow through statewide, regional, and local programs.

    Statewide Certification Programs

    Kansas Statewide Certification Program

    The Kansas Statewide Certification Program was created by KDOT’s Office of Civil Rights Compliance and the Department of Commerce’s Office of Minority and Women Business Development. The goal of the program is to increase business opportunities for disadvantaged, women and minority-owned businesses by promoting equality. It offers information to these businesses and issues the following certifications: Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE), Minority Business Enterprise (MBE), Woman Business Enterprise (WBE) and Airport Concession Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (ACDBE).

    Visit the following links to learn more about the certifications’ eligibility requirements:

    Local and Regional Programs

    Women’s Business Development Center-Midwest (WBDC-Midwest)

    The Women’s Business Development Center-Midwest (WBDC-Midwest) supports and encourages the growth of woman-owned businesses by making new business opportunities accessible to them. As an affiliate of the Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC), the organization administers the WBENC Certification to woman-owned businesses in Kansas as well as Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. This certification, the most prominent woman-owned business certification in the United States, will give certified WBEs access to new resources and development opportunities.

    To be eligible, the business must be owned and controlled by a female who is a US citizen and has at least 51% ownership of the business.

    To apply for the WBENC Certification, click here.

    Mountain Plains Minority Supplier Development Council

    Businesses in Kansas that are at least 51% owned and operated by one or more ethnic minorities can get a Minority Business Enterprise (MBE) certification from this regional branch of the national organization called the National Minority Supplier Development Council (NMSDC). The Mountain Plains-MSDC offers minority business certifications for companies across the state by applying online. Eligibility is established by conducting a series of screenings, interviews and site visits.

    For more information on getting MBE certified visit http://www.mpmsdc.org/application/.